Reese Library

Library 2017

Honesty | Communication | Teamwork | Positive Attitudes

Looking for a good fairytale retelling? How about a psychological thriller? You can check out one of these books in our new Reese Library!

The Shadow Queen

The Shadow Queen

by C.J. Redwine

From Publishers Weekly

An exiled princess with magic at her fingertips, an evil queen who wants to kill her, and a young king trying to save his people are a few of the central figures in this expansive reinterpretation of Snow White.

Heartless
Heartless

by Marissa Meyer

From Publishers Weekly

Before she was the Queen of Hearts in Carroll-s Alice-s Adventures in Wonderland, she was Catherine, the spirited daughter of royalty, destined to wed the King of Hearts but determined to set up shop as a baker with her best friend and longtime maid.

We'll Never Be Apart

We'll Never Be Apart
by Emiko Jean

“Grief is a powerful thing, and sometimes, if it's ignored, we can become lost in it.”

"Realistic characters make good use of a gothic setting that will attract anyone with a taste for the edge."
—Kirkus Reviews



YA Historical Fantasy Fiction is here!

And I Darken

And I Darken

by Kiersten White

The Conqueror's Saga #1

475 Pages

Released June 28th 2016

The New York Times Bestseller!

This vividly rendered novel reads like HBO-s Game of Thrones . . . if it were set in the Ottoman Empire. Ambitious in scope and intimate in execution, the story-s atmospheric setting is rife with political intrigue, with a deftly plotted narrative driven by fiercely passionate characters and a fearsome heroine. Fans of Victoria Aveyard-s THE RED QUEEN, Kristin Cashore-s GRACELING, and Sabaa Tahir-s AN EMBER IN THE ASHES won-t want to miss this visceral, immersive, and mesmerizing novel, the first in a trilogy.

No one expects a princess to be brutal. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move. For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets.

Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia and claim her birthright. Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe. And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, Radu feels that he-s made a true friend—and Lada wonders if she-s finally found someone worthy of her passion.

But Mehmed is heir to the very empire that Lada has sworn to fight against—and that Radu now considers home. Together, Lada, Radu, and Mehmed form a toxic triangle that strains the bonds of love and loyalty to the breaking point.



Reese Readers say...

AND I DARKEN by Kiersten White was...

"so good, I read it twice!"